IQTEX - Protected by Patents

Patented
Technologies

Benefit from numerous innovations that IQTEX has patented in recent years and get the edge over your competitors.

Ultra high air
permeability

The well-being stays much longer during intense activities or at higher ambient temperatures.

Reliable waterproof

Air permeable and, if needed, 100% waterproof.

Built PTFE free

The laminate can be recycled easily or burned environmentally friendly.

The innovation for shoes and textiles

It is the combination of specific properties which makes IQTEX materials so unique.

Patented technologies

Every company is trying to increase its share of the market. This is a lot easier if the company is able to offer products which have unique properties that competitors are not able to deliver. Innovative ideas protected by patents ensure exactly this advance permanently. Benefit from numerous technologies that IQTEX has patented in recent years and get the edge over your competitors.

Ultra high
breathability

Almost all of the functional waterproof membrane systems are also windproof. Because of that these membrane systems sabotage perspiration, the natural function of the skin to regulate body temperature. The humidity below the clothes heats one up quickly. The ultra high breathability of the IQTEX laminate removes a lot more water vapour and the well-being remains significantly longer even at intense activity or higher ambient temperatures.

Reliable waterproof

The IQTEX laminate has an ultra high air permeability, yet it is also waterproof. This behaviour is made possible by the superabsorbent polymers in the laminate, which swell in contact with water thereby sealing the cavities within. These cavities allow in dry conditions the ultra high breathability.

Built PTFE free
and recyclable

Almost all current membrane systems use halogenated carbons like PolyTetraFluoroethylene (PTFE), which releases significant amounts of very toxic substances in its production or during disposal.
The IQTEX laminate consists of polyester and sodium polyacrylates, and within these, we only use carbon, hydrogen, oxygen and sodium. Thus, the laminate can easily be recycled or incinerated in an environmentally friendly way.

Science around us
Video Clip


Source: BASF

Material in dry conditions

In dry conditions a lot of air can find its way through the superabsorbent polymer layer as there is plenty of space between the particles of the superabsorbent polymer which is limited on both sides by two fleece layers. So on one hand dry air is able to get from the outside to the body much easier and on the other hand warm and humid air can be transported much faster away from the body. The natural regulation of body temperature is supported perfectly.

Material in wet conditions

If water finds ist way through the outer fleece, the particles of the superabsorbent polymer will swell. They are much bigger now than in the dry state. As the room between the two fleeces is limited by adhesives, the layer with the superabsorbent polymers cannot expand. The IQTEX laminate remains its dimensions. Therefore all particles of the superabsorbent polymers press against each other so tightly that the material becomes quickly waterproof. When the material is dry again the ultra high air permeability will be restored completely.

Possible applications

Basically IQTEX laminates can be used in every field as textiles or functional membranes. The focus of IQTEX activities lies right now on the shoe production.

Application as insole material

Feet have more than 250.000 sweat glands for perspiration. Therefore the demand for ventilation is complex and couldn’t be solved yet in a satisfying way. Due to the ultra high air permeability in combination with the waterproofness IQTEX laminates become the perfect material for insole solutions. The material is not a mere idea. It is produced and sold by a German company, Freudenberg (www.freudenberg.com) and it is called „Airliner“. It has been used in shoes millionfold.

Application as upper material

IQTEX laminates can be used directly for ventilation purposes as upper. This material is also produced by Freudenberg. A classic functional membrane has one state which always stays pretty much the same. It does not matter whether it is cold or warm – wet or dry. In contrast to these classic membrane systems IQTEX laminates adapt themselves to the Environment without steps.

Comparing IQTEX laminates

IQTEX laminates are used in VAYU TEC protection vents. On this field they compete with vents with classic ePTFE membranes.

Higher water entry point

The quality of vents can be determined by regarding the pressure at which water is able to get into the element the first time. The higher this pressure is the higher the safety reserves are. Comparing a VAYU TEC protection vent with an ePTFE membrane system you will find that VAYU TEC is 6 times more safe. The Water entry point of the ePTFE membrane is at 1 bar while VAYU TEC is tight up to at least 6 bar.

High performance

This comparison underlines the ultra high air permeability of IQTEX laminates: The air permeability at 1.0 bar pressure difference is about 50 times greater than those of ePTFE membranes. Regarding a pressure difference of about 0.25 bar the IQTEX laminate passes through 975 times more air than an ePTFE membrane.

Transferring that knowledge to the shoe industry it is immediately obvious that it does not matter at all how many times you perforate an outer sole for the IQTEX Airliner. The so called „breathability“ of a shoe with a conventional ePTFE membrane will always be worse – even if one would leave out the complete TPU or rubber sole and take the pure membrane alone.

*Tests made by fbb Formenbau Buchen GmbH

Cost advantage

This means that if you have a pressure difference of 0.25 bar and you should need to change about 20 litres of air per minute in a ventilation process, then you will need 975 protection vents with ePTFE membrane. Or just one with IQTEX laminate! So VAYU TEC is less expensive which is another clear advantage. Besides the fact that 975 ePTFE protection vents may need a little more space to be installed than one single VAYU TEC protection vent.

Apart from that one single VAYU TEC vent is even smaller than one ePTFE protection vent.

Read more www.vayutec.com/homepage-en.html

The Revolution is here!

It’s the combination of material features which makes IQTEX laminates unique. Make your product unique too!

IQTEX - Protected by Patents

Patentierte
Technologien

Profitieren auch Sie von den zahlreichen Innovationen, die IQTEX in den vergangenen Jahren hat patentieren lassen.

Ultra Luft-
durchlässig

Das Wohlbefinden bleibt selbst bei stärkerer Aktivität oder höheren Außentemperaturen deutlich länger erhalten.

Zuverlässig
wasserdicht

Luftdurchlässig und trotzdem bei Bedarf 100% wasserdicht.

Frei von
PTFE

Das Laminat kann sehr leicht recycelt oder umweltfreundlich verbrannt werden.

Die Innovation für Schuhe und Textilien

Es ist die Kombination der Eigenschaften, welche die IQTEX Materialien so einzigartig machen.

Patentierte
Technologien

Jede Firma versucht Marktanteile zu gewinnen, ihre Umsätze zu steigern. Unabdingbar dafür sind möglichst einzigartige Produkteigenschaften, die den Mitbewerbern fehlen. Innovative Ideen, die durch Patente geschützt werden, gewährleisten genau diesen Schutz vor Wettbewerbern.
Profitieren auch Sie von den zahlreichen Technologien, die IQTEX in den vergangenen Jahren hat patentieren lassen und sichern Sie sich den Vorsprung vor Ihren Mitbewerbern.

Frei von PTFE
und recyclebar

Bei den meisten funktionalen Membransystemen kommen halogenierte Kohlenstoffe zum Einsatz wie PolyTetraFluorEthylen (PTFE), die sowohl bei der Erzeugung als auch bei der Entsorgung erhebliche Mengen sehr giftiger und schädlicher Stoffe freisetzen.
Die IQTEX Laminate bestehen aus Polyester und Natrium Polyacrylaten und damit nur aus den Elementen Kohlenstoff, Wasserstoff, Sauerstoff und Natrium. Damit kann das Laminat sehr leicht recycelt werden.

Ultra hohe
Luftdurchlässigkeit

Fast alle klassischen funktionalen Membransysteme, die wasserdicht und atmungsaktiv sind, sind winddicht.
Damit sabotieren diese Membransysteme das Schwitzen, die natürliche Funktion der Haut zur Klimaregulierung. Es kommt schnell zur Stauwärme. Durch die ultra hohe Luftdurchlässigkeit der IQTEX Laminate kann mehr Wasserdampf abgeführt werden und das Wohlbefinden bleibt länger erhalten.

Zuverlässig
wasserdicht

Die IQTEX Laminate besitzen zwar eine ultra hohe Luftdurchlässigkeit, sind aber dennoch wasserdicht.
Dieses Verhalten ermöglicht der Superabsorber im Laminat, der bei Wasserkontakt zunächst aufquillt und so alle Durchtrittsöffnungen, die im trockenen Zustand die ultra hohe Luftdurchlässigkeit ermöglichen, fest verschließt.

Science around us
Video Clip


Quelle: BASF

Material im trockenen Zustand

Im trockenen Zustand ist zwischen den Superabsorberteilchen, die zwischen den Vliesen eingeschlossen sind, so viel Platz, dass Luft sehr leicht durch das Laminat gelangen kann. So gelangt einerseits trockene Luft sehr viel leichter als bei vergleichbaren Funktionsmembranen von außen an den Körper und andererseits kann warme und feuchte Luft sehr viel schneller vom Körper weg transportiert werden. Die natürliche Klimaregulierung des Körpers wird unterstützt.

Material im feuchten Zustand

Gelangt Wasser durch das äußere Vlies, quellen die Superabsorberteilchen auf. Die Superabsorberteilchen sind nun viel größer als im trockenen Zustand. Da der Raum zwischen den Vliesen, der den Superabsorberteilchen zur Ausdehnung zur Verfügung steht, durch Kleber begrenzt ist, kann die Superabsorberschicht nicht dicker werden. Das IQTEX Laminat bleibt stets gleich dick. Daher quetschen sich alle Superabsorberteilchen dicht an dicht gegeneinander, so dass das Material umgehend wasserdicht ist. Trocknet das Material wieder, ist die volle Luftdurchlässigkeit wieder hergestellt.

Anwendungen im Textil- und Schuhbereich

Grundsätzlich lassen sich die IQTEX Laminate in allen Bereichen einsetzen, in denen bisher konventionelle Textilien oder Funktionsmembranen Verwendung finden. Aktuell im Fokus der IQTEX Aktivitäten steht die Schuhherstellung.

Verwendung in
der Schuhsohle

Füße haben mehr als 250.000 Schweißporen und stellen daher besondere Anforderungen an die Belüftung, die bisher kein Materialmix zufriedenstellend lösen konnte. Das IQTEX Vlies eignet sich dank der ultra hohen Luftdurchlässigkeit in Kombination mit der Wasserdichtigkeit ideal als Zwischensohle und wird den Markt revolutionieren. Das Material wird von der Firma Freudenberg (www.freudenberg.de) gefertigt und unter dem Namen “Airliner” verkauft.

Verwendung als
Schaftmaterial

Als Belüftungselemente im Schaftmaterial von Schuhen können die IQTEX Laminate direkt Verwendung finden. Auch dieses Material wird von der Firma Freudenberg hergestellt. Eine klassische Funktionsmembran hat einen Zustand, der im Wesentlichen immer gleich ist. Egal ob es kalt oder warm – nass oder trocken ist. Im Gegensatz dazu kann sich das IQTEX Laminat je nach Umgebung stufenlos anpassen.

IQTEX Laminate im Vergleich

Die Laminate von IQTEX finden außerdem Verwendung in VAYU TEC Druckausgleichselementen (DAE).
Dort stehen sie im Wettbewerb mit klassischen ePTFE Membranen.

Wassereintrittspunkt

Gerade der Wasserdruck, bei dem Wasser erstmals durch ein Druckausgleichselement eindringen kann, ist wichtig für deren Beurteilung. Je höher der notwendige Druck zum Eintritt ist, desto höher sind die Sicherheitsreserven. Bei dem VAYU TEC Element liegt dieser Wassereintrittspunkt bis zu über 6 bar während der Wassereintrittspunkt bei dem Element mit der ePTFE Membran schon bei 1 bar beginnt.

Luftdurchlässigkeit

Dieser Vergleich bestätigt die ultra hohe Luftdurchlässigkeit des IQTEX Laminats: Die Luftdurchlässigkeit ist bei 1,0 bar Druckunterschied rund 50 mal höher als bei ePTFE Membranen. Bei einem Druckunterschied von 0,25 bar lässt das IQTEX Laminat sogar fast 975 mal mehr Luft durch als eine ePTFE Membran.



*Richtprüfwerte ermittelt durch fbb Formenbau Buchen GmbH

Kostenvorteil

Sollen somit ca. 20 Liter Luft pro Minute bei einem Druckunterschied von 0,25 bar ausgeglichen werden, so braucht es dafür 975 Druckausgleichselemente mit ePTFE Membran: oder genau ein einziges mit einem IQTEX Laminat! Ein deutlicher Kostenvorteil für VAYU TEC. Mal abgesehen davon, dass 975 ePTFE-Druckausgleichselemente ungleich mehr Platz brauchen als ein VAYU TEC Element.

Dabei ist ein einzelnes VAYU TEC Element auch noch kleiner als ein ePTFE Element.

Mehr unter www.vayutec.com

Die Revolution ist da!

Die Kombination der Eigenschaften macht die IQTEX Laminate einzigartig. Machen auch Sie Ihr Produkt einzigartig.